Book Impressions: Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown

The Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown will take over your life (in a good way, of course). The story of Darrow (aka the Reaper) and his heart-pounding adventures, sacrifices, relationships, and all the fantastic dialog and description (exceptionally balanced, I might add) captivated me from the first page of Red Rising to the last page of Morning Star, with Golden Son filling up the middle.

Pierce Brown is clearly a master storyteller. While the Red Rising trilogy is detailed and complex, it’s readable and easily navigated, as long as you don’t wait too long in between books. I had to wait for Morning Star, but the author was kind enough to include a quick recap at the beginning. Thanks, Mr. Brown!

Even if you are a non-Science Fiction lover, this trilogy will envelope you, and your heart will cheer for its young hero, Darrow. Don’t miss out because this trilogy is that good!

On Goodreads, I give all three books 5 out of 5 stars.

Here are my impressions for each book in this amazing trilogy:

Red Rising

Red Rising is one wild ride. I thought the author a bit arrogant in his acknowledgments: “You’re going to bloodydamn love these books.” So far he’s bloodydamn and gorydamn right.

Darrow is an amazing wreck of a headstrong hero. I like him. He is passionate and proud and reckless and achingly honest in his falseness.

Red Rising has a touch of Pygmalion near the beginning and quickly moves into a twisted coed version of Lord of the Flies, blanketed by whispers of The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, and The Maze Runner. All good things because Red Rising is still a unique and engaging story in its own right, capable of inspiring a slew of others who are willing to put pen to paper.

Pierce Brown presents a solid plot filled with well-developed characters who are explosive, flawed, varied, and purely outrageous. The concepts of trust, loyalty, truth and lies, family, and purpose run rampant throughout.

Red Rising keeps you on your toes and leaves you hungry for the next in the series, Golden Son.


“All ears yearn for a voice to lead them through darkness.” ~ chapter 4

“An empire cannot be destroyed from without till it is destroyed from within.” ~ chapter 10

“In the densest places of man, humanity most easily breaks down.” ~ chapter 10

“I learn more when I make mistakes, so long as they don’t kill me.” ~ chapter 29

“Always negotiate with food.” ~ chapter 30



Golden Son

The level of detail in this series is astounding. Golden Son sees the continuation of Darrow’s journey to rise and conquer the enemy of his people, to fulfill a quest he never even knew he wanted. Darrow propels himself and his followers headlong into a chaotic mess where it is almost impossible to differentiate between friend and foe.

Everything about Golden Son is spectacular and heart wrenching. I’m speechless! Waiting until 2016 for the next in the series, Morning Star, will be ridiculously hard.

When I reached the end of Golden Son, all I could do was cry, “Noooooooo!”

“It’s not victory that makes a man. It’s his defeats.” ~ chapter 3

“Everyone’s honest till they’re caught in a lie.” ~ chapter 6

“There is no greater plague to an introvert than the extroverted.” ~ chapter 10

“Amazing the power you have when you’re bloody up to the sleeves and none of it is your own.” ~ chapter 13

“Why can we not simply restart the day? Do everything right. Save the ones we love.” ~ chapter 22

“Friendships take minutes to make, moments to break, years to repair.” ~ chapter 44


Morning Star

I am overwhelmed by this author’s eloquence and ability to create a story with such a high level of detail that doesn’t become bogged down and ridiculously complex. Sure, the entire trilogy is complex, but the story develops and flows beautifully.

Morning Star continues the wild ride of the Red Rising trilogy as Darrow tries valiantly to fulfill his quest. He is a true hero in that his flaws are numerous, and his development throughout the series is painful yet cheer worthy. Darrow doesn’t hesitate when he must be raw, gritty, and brave, yet he loves hard and steadfastly, even in the face of betrayal. He is realistically weak and strong, brave and frightened.

I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil it all. That would be tragic!

I tried to read Morning Star slowly to draw out the inevitable ending of this amazing series, but the story is just too captivating. My heart pounded with every turn of the page until it exploded at the end (but in a good way).

Good Job, Pierce Brown. You were right. I bloodydamn love these books!

“Pity is not forgiveness, nor is gratitude absolution.” ~ chapter 2

“Forget a man’s name and he’ll forgive you. Remember it, and he’ll defend you forever.” ~ chapter 11

“You and I keep looking for light in the darkness, expecting it to appear. But it already has.” ~ chapter 35

“What is pride without honor? What is honor without truth? Honor is not what you say. It is not what you read.” Romulus thumps his chest. “Honor is what you do.” ~ chapter 42

“Wakey, wakey, Goblin!” ~ chapter 61


What do you think?

My Goodreads

Comments are closed.